Skip to content

Bucket List

November 13, 2011
tags:

For the Today’s Mama contest, because I think my kids would love Orlando:

1-Publish a novel.
2-Have everything, every closet, every drawer, in my whole house, organized at the same time, including all the laundry clean.
3-Weigh what I did when I got married.
4-Have practice yoga five days a week for at least five years.
5-Get my black belt in tae kwon do.
6-Go on an Alaskan cruise with Matt.
7-See all my children married in the temple to people who love and appreciate them.
8-Go on a mission with Matt.
9-Get a graduate degree (bonus points if it’s the writing for children MFA at Vermont).
10-Teach at BYU.
11-Have been to the temple every week for at least five years.
12-Find an ancestor’s name to do temple work for. There’s nothing new in our family history after 1800.
13-Hike to the top of Timp again.
14-Send my sons on missions, and my daughter if she wants.
15-Pay off our mortgage.

I was scraping the bottom of the barrel at the end here. Some of my bucket list things are not very quantifiable, like at the end of my life I want to feel like I did right by my children, that they see me with mercy and grace and remember more the things I did well than the things I messed up on. The thing about a bucket list is that it’s often a specific item, and not a way of being. And I think I need to figure out ways of being that allow me to accomplish goals.

This is my entry in the Just Ask Bucket List Getaway Giveaway. Just Ask offers a breast and ovarian cancer screening and is encouraging people to share 15 things that I want to enjoy in my lifetime as a reminder to be aware of my health. Want to enter? Head over to TodaysMama.com to get the details.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rosalyn permalink
    November 14, 2011 8:28 pm

    I love your list–especially the part about the MFA program at Vermont! (I felt cool because I actually knew why that would be such an impressive program).

  2. Rosalyn permalink
    December 7, 2011 10:27 pm

    It’s me again. I nominated you for a web award (the Liebster Award). You can see details here: http://anequivalentcentreofself.blogspot.com/2011/12/liebster-award.html

    You don’t have to pass it on unless you want to. I think it’s kind of fun, but it may not be your thing. :)

    Have a wonderful trip!

  3. December 8, 2011 3:57 am

    I have never won a blog award before! Thank you!

    And I don’t think I will be passing it on right now, but thank you. You are very kind.

  4. M. Bowen permalink
    December 28, 2011 3:38 pm

    Melanie here! I enjoyed this piece, please email me–I have a question about your blog. MelanieLBowen[at]gmail[dot]com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

