Skip to content

Iron Chef Middle America

April 18, 2008

I’m a fan of Iron Chef America. A bigger fan of the original Iron Chef, actually, which Food Network no longer runs. Badly dubbed, badly translated commentary on (to my tastes) bizarre-looking food. It was a hoot.  A lot of the food on Iron Chef American looks pretty good to me, although some of it is still a bit exotic for my tastes.

This is why I think they should have a new show: Iron Chef Middle America. Here are some ideas for Theme Ingredients:

  • Cheese Whiz
  • And its corollary, Velveeta
  • canned tuna
  • frozen mixed vegetables
  • Froot Loops
  • SPAM. Of course, SPAM.
  • Canned Cream of Chicken Soup
  • And Cream of Mushroom
  • Canned Green Beans
  • Canned Pineapple
  • Jello. Not Gelatin, mind you, but Jello, preferably one of those wild new day-glo flavors.
  • Hot dogs

I ‘d like to see them whip out something gourmet out of one of those secret ingredients.   I’d like to see me whip out something gourmet from one of them. But it hasn’t happened yet.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 21, 2008 4:02 pm

    Tater tots!

Leave a Reply

