Skip to content

Star Valley, Wyoming

July 18, 2008

Do people who actually reside in Star Valley, Wyoming (see picture in my blog header) love it as much as I do?  Every summer we stay for a few days in an old family homestead that miraculously ended up in my husband’s branch of the family. It’s a refurbished farmhouse, which means that it has indoor plumbing, but only downstairs, and a coal stove for the chilly Wyoming nights, and a wood-burning stove for the chilly Wyoming days. The piano has real ivory keys, all yellow, and the sustain pedal’s brass has been worn through. The closets are very small, narrow. And outside of the upstairs bedroom window, you can see sheep dotting the hill, guarded by a sheep-guarding llama. Yes, a llama.

DH’s aunt and uncle have owned it the last few years, and each year when we come they have upgraded something: new tile for the kitchen, new carpet upstairs.  I love the way they somehow change it without changing the flavor, the feeling there. I have never been that attached to a place before, and I married into it. Star Valley is not my heritage, it’s my husband’s. But I feel restored after a few days there. It’s not just the lack of internet and phone–I’ve been without them, without feeling that restoration, that soul-peace. It’s not that we do anything special or exciting. We tried to go on a hike but the road was closed, so we ate at a greasy delicious diner instead.  I am not sure what is so healing about it, but I’m grateful.

Every year when we get home, I walk in a Star Valley-induced trance for a few days, returning to a centered peace when I get grumpy. And then it wears off. I’m hoping that maybe by writing about it, I can hold onto it a little longer.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2008 4:35 am

    The title of this post caught my eye because my parents are both from Star Valley. I grew up in CA but we visited often. Unfortunately I haven’t had a chance to go back very often during the last few years, and two years ago my maternal grandmother died. Many of my family members have also moved away, so we no longer have a strong connection there. But it is a beautiful place and also dear to my heart. I love the picture!

  2. July 18, 2008 12:08 pm

    Sounds (and looks) heavenly. Have so much fun!

  3. Emily M. permalink*
    July 20, 2008 12:49 am

    Thanks, Foxy J and Dalene! Glad you stopped by!

Leave a Reply

