Skip to content

Book Love and more Whitney talk

March 10, 2009

I feel a little silly blogging about the Whitneys yet again (and I’m still not done; I will yet blog more), but I’ve been reading and thinking about them a lot over the last few days, and I’m not finished reading the finalists yet. A few more observations:

1-As I noted in the comments of my last post, I’ve found another great book with LDS characters who are allowed to crash: Waiting for the Light to Change. I’m not done yet, but it’s excellent. Great writing, great characters. Kudos to Annette Haws.

2-I will name no names. But I will mention here that, in my opinion, many of the Whitney finalist books written by some of the more well-established authors are not as good as the ones written by up-and-comers. And I may not even be thinking of who you think I’m thinking of (untwist that sentence!). It’s almost like there’s a divide, between the people who are going to write what they’ve always written because they know it will sell, and the people who know that if they’re going to break into the market, their book needs to be really great.

3-Thank you, Annette!!!! Annette Lyon has been gracious and so bend-over-backwards helpful to me–as I’ve been reading the Whitney Finalists, I have needed to find copies of them without breaking my book budget. Annette has lent books to me and coordinated others sending to me, and I am so grateful to her. So is my husband, who supports my book habit but not at the expense of groceries. Hop on over to her blog and check out her giveaway and her new book, Tower of Strength (it’s on my list to read… after reading for the Whitneys is over. Or maybe I’ll give myself a break and read it a little sooner…)

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 11, 2009 3:43 pm

    Put another way, you support my eating habit, sometimes at the expense of the book budget. We’re a team! 🙂

Leave a Reply

