Skip to content

LDS Fiction: Taking Chances

March 31, 2009

This is a great little read. I shall analyze it briefly based on my Romance Rules:

1-The plot is not a bad imitation of Pride and Prejudice. It’s a good imitation of Pride and Prejudice. The protagonists do dislike each other from the start, but she handles it pretty well, and the dislike is funny and character-based, not random.

2-The married-but-still-need-to-fall-in-love plot. Doesn’t apply; that’s not the plot here.

3-The characters cared about more than the romance! Maggie is engaged with her art, and also with confronting her mother’s abused past. She’s got depth because she truly cares about more than just her romance with Luke. She’s also dealing with the town’s gossip. And her need to heal and forgive her grandma. All kinds of layers there. Go Maggie!

4-The physical description was not too heavy-handed for me. Almost, but not quite. Maggie wasn’t described as gorgeous too many times. Her insecurities felt real to me.

5-Hooray for a sense of humor! The scene with Luke’s sisters made me laugh out loud.

There were a few things that could be smoothed out, but overall I really enjoyed this book. I thought its use of healing and the Atonement was quite effective too–well-earned, with healing not granted too soon.

Nicely done.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 21, 2009 10:32 pm

    I worship (in a non-religious way) Jane Austen. I own the A&E version and watch it probably too much. I can’t even count the times I’ve read Pride & Prejudice. To be compared to that. Seriously made my whole YEAR. Thank-you!!

Leave a Reply

