Skip to content

Falling

September 18, 2009

I fell down in yoga today, several times, when I was trying to do crow. I cannot fall quietly. I scream and then it messes up the breathing of everyone around me. I am new to yoga. I am, predictably, pretty bad at it. But I’m enjoying it. It fills my tae kwon do void, and my leg is just not up to the pivots and kicks of tae kwon do yet.

So my instructor says I am supposed to breathe through falling, and not scream, but I don’t know if I can do that. I’ve never been able to breathe through falling. I hate falling. I have always hated falling. I can’t breathe through it. I anticipate falling with tension, and when it happens I scream, and it takes me a while to get back up again.

There are larger life lessons in this, I know–this inability to fall with grace, to breathe through the fall, shows up in just about every other area of my life. I dread falling and then react badly when it happens, as it inevitably does.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2009 5:23 am

    I’m just glad you’re posting again.

  2. September 18, 2009 5:39 pm

    Who falls gracefully? Certainly no one my age. And who can think about breathing when you’re falling? In any case, like David above, I’m glad you’re back to posting. Now I have no excuse (except for the three books I’m trying to read).

  3. Emily permalink*
    September 19, 2009 3:40 am

    Thanks, David and Tanya. I didn’t think anyone would notice!

    Tanya, are you still up for an interview on Segullah? October, maybe?

  4. September 20, 2009 7:22 pm

    I’m also glad you’re posting again 🙂 And I’m also terrible at falling–this has given me something to think about, learning to accept falling and to do it gracefully. Thanks.

  5. Emily permalink*
    September 22, 2009 4:03 am

    Hi Foxy J! Tell me when you get the falling figured out. I have not yet.

Trackbacks

  1. Fall. Stand. : Segullah

Leave a Reply

