Skip to content

Whitney Rules Update

September 22, 2009

Robison Wells has posted about a couple of new rules for the Whitneys:

1-there will be no finalists for Best Novel and Best Novel by a New Author, so that the books nominated in that category will not automatically skew the voting for the genre categories, and
2-Everyone has to read all the books they vote about, and check a box saying that they’ve done so.

Makes sense to me.

And now, Whitney-eligible books I’ve read so far this year (not enough, I’m sure; I was scrambling to read them all last time), with a brief assessment:

Warbreaker. Brandon Sanderson. Brilliant, of course. I loved it. Should Brandon Sanderson be eliminated from consideration if he wins too often? Just wondering. It hardly seems fair to anyone else writing in the science fiction category.
The Princess and the Bear, Mette Ivie Harrison. Oh this is a good book. It started slow for me, but I ended up loving it. Elegant writing.
Princess of the Midnight Ball, Jessica Day George. This was cute; I found myself wanting a couple more layers, but it was a fun read.
The Hourglass Door, by Lisa Mangum. A quick Google search on reviews reveals that most people compare it to Twilight, and that’s exactly what I thought of it–it seemed to be a new take on Twilight themes, with a teenage girl falling for a handsome and unkissable stranger.
Tower of Strength, by Annette Lyon. Love the strong female protagonist! Go Tabitha! May all the other historical fiction nominees be this much fun. Or maybe not quite this much fun. 🙂
The Chosen One, Carol Lynch Williams. Oh my this is a haunting book, but the writing is stunning, and everyone should read it. With a box of kleenex.
Brandon Mull, Fablehaven 4–my son loves these. I enjoy them too, although I am not quite the fervent fan he is.

On my to-read Whitney eligible list:
Shannon Hale’s books, The Actor and the Housewife, and Forest Born.
Ann Dee Ellis, Everything is Fine.
Brandon Sanderson, Alcatraz #3 (not released yet)
J. Scott Savage, Farworld: Land Keep
James Dashner, 13th Reality #2, and his other new book out from Delacourt
Dan Wells, I am not a serial killer.
Josi Kilpack, English Trifle
***
That’s what I come up with off the top of my head. I know there are plenty more eligible books out there, but these are the ones I am probably going to read (and possibly even shell out money for) before all the nominees are announced.

Edit to correct the title of The Chosen One (blush). At some point I will probably stick in a bunch of links as well.

What are you reading now? I know I’m missing out on some great titles.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2009 10:48 pm

    Just as a FYI, Carol’s book title is actually The Chosen One, not to be confused with Chiam Potak’s The Chosen. And you’re right–it is stellar writing. Absolutely took my breath away.

  2. Emily permalink*
    September 22, 2009 11:29 pm

    Thanks for the correction! I edited the post accordingly.

  3. September 23, 2009 2:09 am

    I’ve read almost all of those books too! Except for Dan Wells & Warbreaker & Harrison’s book. Is the Wells book scary? Brandon Sanderson has only won once–he’s been a finalist several times though. I just put Forest Born by Shannon Hale on my to-read list as well. I also read an ARC of The Maze Runner by James Dashner. Very cool.

  4. Emily permalink*
    September 23, 2009 3:02 am

    Heather, _Alma_ is coming out in September, I just saw on your blog. So that’s on my to-read list as well (see, people have to be reminded of these things, we don’t just remember on our own) 🙂 .

    You have an ARC of the Maze Runner? Lucky! I wish the stars and planets and babysitting had aligned so that I could come to the UVU conference. Ah well. Next year maybe…

    The Wells book is on my to-read list, not the list I’ve actually read. I’m really looking forward to it, even though horror’s not typically my genre, because I’m so impressed with his blog and writing advice in the Writing Excuses podcast.

  5. September 27, 2009 7:46 pm

    I got to read and review Tower of Strength for Annette’s blog book tour. I loved it. I totally agree with you on Tabitha. Great book!

    I also read English Trifle recently. Fun read.

Leave a Reply

