Skip to content

Whine and Cheese

September 23, 2009

Lately I’ve been a whiner. I think that blogging has something to do with this, because I’ve discovered a community of like-minded people who agree with me that Doing Crafts is not an essential principle of the gospel. And while I really appreciate the support, I think that if I’d gone through this thirty or forty years ago I would have just done the craft without the whining.

I made a big point to myself when I was a missionary about not whining. Not so much as a greenie, when I was so overwhelmed that all the emotion had to come out. But I tried not to whine, and by the end of my mission I was pretty good at taking what the Lord dealt me and not complaining. Not so much anymore, though.

It’s the difference between Nephi and Laman and Lemuel. Laman and Lemuel really get a bad rap, IMO. Maybe it’s all those death threats against Nephi. No really though, they all start out in the same place: they’re all leaving Jerusalem because of their father’s vision, and they’re all bugged about it. Nephi prays to have his heart softened, and L&L keep whining about having to leave.

So you see the dangers of whining, the ultimate consequences of whining left unchecked: a total blindness to truth.

But whining is funny. I’ve gotten several laughs out of that crafts line. Plus whining makes me feel better about not doing something I dislike.

It does blind me though. A religion that does not require the sacrifice of all things, including one’s dislike of glue guns (they always burn me), never has power sufficient to save the souls of man.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2009 5:39 pm

    .

    If L&L had had a blog, they could have found a safe outlet for their whining and ultimately been saved.

  2. Emily permalink*
    September 23, 2009 5:45 pm

    Ha! Maybe so.

  3. September 23, 2009 9:40 pm

    I don’t think you’re whining about craft – I think it’s more that you have matured enough to say “I don’t enjoy/like it”. You are still prepared to contribute, but without any fakeness.

    As for whining – it can be beneficial. Better than letting it all build up until critical mass. I figure it’s like cement – have a tablespoon of it and then harden up already. =)

    (I dislike glue guns. I bought one when I was called as Enrichment Councillor, and promptly glued my fingers together.)

  4. September 24, 2009 2:14 am

    First time I visit this blog and I read Th’s comment about if L & L had a blog: that is the funniest, cleverest thing I have read in my entire experience of surfing the blog world. It is funny/true on so many levels. Ha!

  5. September 24, 2009 3:50 am

    Emily, I know that you are going through with this torture. But if you do change your mind and need me to make a craft for you that you can call Yours (I won’t tell anyone), let me know. I need to know by Friday so that I have time to pull your masterpiece together if you do accept this offer. (:

  6. Emily permalink*
    September 24, 2009 4:07 am

    Shelley, you are so kind to offer. I think I have a plan, though. We’ll see how it turns out.

    Welcome, Kristine!

    Selwyn, you are determined to think the best of me :-).

Leave a Reply

