Skip to content

Seeing the light, signing off

October 12, 2009

I keep wanting to write the follow up post to my rants about crafts, but blogging is not really the best medium for what I have to say. Ah well. Let me just say this: that when I listened in the Relief Society General Meeting to President Eyring speak of the history of the Relief Society, I began to see more clearly. I thought about all the years where Relief Society bazaars were held–every year, that was how they raised money, because correlation hadn’t happened yet, and the RS budget was separate. So the women who belonged (and not everyone did belong; you had to pay dues. You could be a female adult member of the Church and not a member of the Relief Society.) would spend all year making things to sell, and then sell them at the giant bazaars, and use the proceeds to fund their budgets for the year.

And we don’t do that anymore. For which I am grateful. But on this particular occasion, listening to President Eyring, and thinking about the history of the Relief Society and the cause we were crafting for, it made sense.

This is another reason why whining about Church assignments is lame, because when you [by which I mean me] don’t whine and just do what you’re supposed to, then when you look back at the big picture and understand things, you don’t have to eat crow. But when you do whine, you either a-can’t see the big picture because you are so fixated on your original whine that you’re blinded to its truth, or b-can see the big picture, but would rather not admit it because it’s embarrassing to be wrong.

And I was.

And with that, I think that I am once again done posting on this blog for a good long while. I am planning to start a new blog/website at some point, and I will post here and on Facebook when I do and let people know about it. Thanks for checking in, everyone.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2009 6:33 pm

    Hmmm . . . .

    Very good points, Emily.

    I love how Conference speaks to us on so many levels.

  2. Melissa Y. permalink
    November 2, 2009 6:53 pm

    I agree. I always feel worse when I’m done whining instead of better (though I do feel better WHILE I’m whining 🙂 ) Anyway, please do let us know about your new sites.

Leave a Reply

